Eggs En Cocotte

Eggs. Eggs. Eggs. Normally the husband and I eat a healthy heap of Egg Beaters in the mornings. He can’t stomach the full yolks of regular eggs, plus you know, we like to keep cholesterol in check . However I loves me a good hearty full egg. I normally use a bit of cooking spray in a pan and fry them sunny side up. However for some reason I like to make things more difficult than I need to and the visual appeal of Eggs En Cocotte peaked my interests. They aren’t difficult to make, but they did take a while in the oven.

 For this recipe I used:

-spinach
-green onion
-tomato on the vine
-1 whole egg
-1/2 tbsp of skim milk
-dash of sea salt

You can use whatever veggies/filling you want! That’s what I love about this simple, yet pretty, pretty dish. I want to make them again this week with baby bella mushrooms and the rest of my green onions (and a dash of skim milk cheddar cheese this time. Shh. Don’t tell on me).  Are you kidding me? I want to have a fancy little brunch party just so I have an excuse to make these again!

I started off by sautéing the veggies with a bit of cooking spray in a small pan, then putting them in an adorable pink ramekin dish. Crack the egg into the ramekin, careful not to break the yolk. Then pour the skim milk into the whites of the egg. Normally this dish calls for cream or whole milk, but you can use skim and it is just as delicious and lighter. Place the ramekin in a shallow baking pan with about 1/3 an inch of water.

 Eggs En Cocotte

I put this in the oven at 350degrees. It took about 30 minutes to get set to where I wanted it. I think maybe it had something to do with me constantly opening the oven door to check on it. My oven needs a serious upgrade. The door is solid white. No glass to see through. How messed up is that?  It makes checking on food a hot potato process.

I put a slice of whole grain bread in the oven to bake alongside my eggs en cocotte. My mom used to make me eggs and “soldiers” when I was little, and I absolutely cannot eat eggs any other way. The soldiers are simply the bread cut up into dipping sticks. I thought to myself in the end it took quite a while to bake something I could probably easily make in less than 10 minutes on the stove. The truth is the whole dish was so creamy and light it did turn out to be a step above anything I could do on the stove. It was something special for my tummy and my camera!

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Eggs En Cocotte

  1. Sonya says:

    Looks delicious! I’d never heard nor thought of cutting up the toast until I got married. My ex liked to call them “toast fingers” and they became my favorite for egg dipping.

  2. metcarfre says:

    Very cool! This looks like a nice weekend breaky – maybe I’ll surprise the wife with it.

    I am jealous of your photography, obviously. Even if I got my blog going my photos would look like crap.

Leave a Reply

